Final Project

Genealogy Powerpoint Presentation

Bibliography of Secondary Sources

ž  Grahame, Deborah A, Austria (New York: Marshall Cavendish Benchmark,c2007)

ž  Lithtenberger, Elisabeth, Austria: Society and Regions (Vienna: Austrian Academy of Sciences Press, c2000)

ž  Bankson, John, The Life and Times of Franz Peter Schubert (Bear,Del: Mitchell Lane Publishers, c2004)

ž  Williamson, David, The 47th Indiana Volunteer Infantry; A Civil War History (Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland &Company, Inc. , Publishers, c2012)

ž  The Hoosier Genealogist (Genealogical Section of the Indiana Historical Society Indianapolis, Ind.)

ž  Frost, Helen. 2002. German Immigrants, 1820-1920, Blue Earth Books (Mankato, MN), 2002.

 

Bibliography of Primary Sources

ž “United States, Civil War soldiers index”, index, Familysearch.org/ Pal:/mm9.1.1/FSWl-8PI: accessed 18 April 2012), John Schubert.

ž http://www.findagrave.com/cgi/fg.cgiPage=Schubert+&gsfN=John & Gs by+= 1829&Gsdyrd+17&Gsentry=853

ž Family info packet

 

 

 Reflection Paper

            Through my genealogy project, I have learned a lot about my lineage and the culture in which they lived in Austria and Germany. I learned more about the structure of families in the 1800’s, such as their roles within the family. For example, mothers back then used to have many children because of the high infant mortality rate. Since there were more members in each family on average and remain in the same area into adulthood, families tended to be closer and have stronger bonds than compared to modern day families. I knew that my family was from Austria, but I thought that my ancestor who immigrated to Germany, John Franz Schubert, had married a woman there, which would make me part German. However I discovered that while he was born in Germany, his blood was full Austrian. I then found out that the reason he left Germany was to avoid conscription, or forced entry into the military. Then upon arriving in Indiana he volunteered for the Union army, (which nobody in my immediate family was previously aware of), and died from injuries suffered in battle. I had been told by my grandmother that we are distant relatives of Franz Schubert the composer, but I wanted to map out exactly how I am related to him, which I ultimately did. I discovered that Franz is my great, great, great, great uncle, and that I am a lateral descendent of his because the Schubert bloodline was continued by his brother Ferdinand, since Franz never had children.

In a way I feel more connected to my ancestors because I know quite a bit about them and how they lived their lives. Before my view of my distant relatives was somewhat abstract because I knew they existed, but don’t know their names or their stories. Now that I’ve gained more knowledge about their lives and culture, I feel like I have a better understanding of myself and where I come from. Personally, however, my immediate family does not have any Austrian or German customs so I don’t feel very connected to their culture.

I think that people have an innate curiosity about where they come from. People want to know who their ancestors are, perhaps to gain a better understanding of themselves, or to help them identify with a certain culture or group of people. In addition, a lot of people are fascinated and intrigues by the past since it is so different from how we live our lives in modern day society, and I think that those curious individuals want to see how their family story fits into historical events on a larger scale.

I feel that it s important for a person to know where they come from, and that it is valuable to know your history even though the lives of modern people is drastically different than the lives of our ancestors. It can help people gain a better understanding of how their family fits into history both locally and internationally. Genealogical research is more prevalent now mainly because it has become much easier to obtain records and make connections to family members because of modern technology. Before the last couple of decades people had to actually go out and search for the information they wanted, whereas now there is a multitude of information just a click away.

Leave a Reply

