Genealogy Research Project Proposal

Part II: Research Abstract

For my family history project I am examining my maternal grandmother’s side of the family, which originated in Vienna, Austria. In my project I will focus on the time period of 1794-1909, when my ancestors lived in Austria and Germany. I had previously been told by my grandmother that our family is descendents of the famous composer Franz Schubert, so I decided to trace our lineage back to his generation. My mother found a packet of family information that was gathered by a great aunt of mine, and used that as my primary research source.

I traced all the way back to my great, great, great grandparents, John Franz Schubert, who was born in 1829 in Germany, and Mary Elizabeth D’Arc, who was born in 1837 in Clark County Indiana. Unfortunately the written records stopped at this generation, the one after Franz was born. However, it did include a section that described how John Franz was named after his uncle, Franz Peter Schubert. Knowing this, I proceeded to further my research through ancestry.com and various other websites dedicated solely to the study of Schubert Lineage. I soon discovered that Franz Peter Schubert never had any children, however his brother Ferdinand did, and thus I found that John Franz was the son of Ferdinand Lukas Schubert. He was born in 1794 in Vienna Austria to the parents of Karl and Susan Schubert and later became a musician and a teacher at a local orphanage.

Through my research I plan to uncover my ancestor’s familial composition, as well as when and why they settled in Indiana. I hope that my project will inspire others who are curious about where they come from to research their own family heritage, and also that it will serve as a model for others to map their lineage. I will present my project in the form of a poster as well as publishing it online.

Part III: Research Paperwork                                        

d.) Family Sketch of George Charles Schubert and Mary Emma Masterson:

George Charles Schubert was born on October 20, 1868 to the parents of John Franz Schubert and Mary Elizabeth D’Ark. Mary Emma Masterson was born on September 17, 1879 in New Hope, Nelson, KY to the parents of George and Mattie Masterson. George Charles and Mary Emma were married on January 28, 1902 in Davies county Kentucky. George died on December 26, 1927 and was buried at St. Ann’s Catholic Cemetery on December 26, 1927. Mary Emma died on December 4, 1945 and was buried in St. Ann’s Cemetery on December 7, 1945.

Children of George and Mary Schubert:

  1. Joseph George (11/11/1902)
  2. Mary Elizabeth (2/4/1904)
  3. John Francis (12/31/1905)
  4. Martha Vincentia (10/9/1907)
  5. Charles Cyril (12/16/1909)
  6. Joseph Edward (7/1/1911)

ENDNOTES [References: Ancestry.com. 1920 United States Federal Census [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2010.

Part IV: Bibliography of Potential Secondary Sources

  1. Grahame, Deborah A, Austria (New York: Marshall Cavendish Benchmark,c2007)
  2. Lithtenberger, Elisabeth, Austria: Society and Regions (Vienna: Austrian Academy of Sciences Press, c2000)
  3. Thompson, Wendy, Franz Schubeeert (New York, N.Y Viking 1991)
  4. Bankson, John, The Life and Times of Franz Peter Schubert (Bear,Del: Mitchell Lane Publishers, c2004)
  5. Gibbs H, Christopher, The Life of Schubert (Cambridge, New Tork: Cambridge University Press, 2000)
  6. Newbould, Brian, Schubert, the Music and the Man (Berkeley: University of California Press, c1997)
  7. Williamson, David, The 47th Indiana Volunteer Infantry; A Civil War History (Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland &Company, Inc. , Publishers, c2012)
  8. The Hoosier Genealogist (Genealogical Section of the Indiana Historical Society Indianapolis, Ind.)
  9. Bloxham, V. Ben. “Home Sources and Family Records Survey.” In Elderhostel Genealogical Syllabus, edited by Gordon Casper & Carolyn Casper. Provo, UT;Conferences and Workshops, Division of Continuing Education, Brigham Young University, 1994.
  10. “A Guide to Transcribing and Editing Oral History.” edited by Gordon Casper & Carolyn Casper. Provo, UT;Conferences and Workshops, Division of Continuing Education, Brigham Young University, 1994.
Leave a Reply

