My American Dream

I have the typical American dream. Go to college, get a good job, start a family, own a house. But now I’m starting to wonder if that is realistic anymore. Ever since the occupy Wall Street thing started, I’ve become increasingly aware of the social and economic problems in this country. Nowadays, the unemployment rate is getting higher and fewer people own their own homes. By the time I graduate college, I’ll owe approximately $30,000 in student loans, and then after that I plan to attend medical school which will means I’ll owe an additional 30 grand, all before I even get my degree and become a doctor. How can I expect to be financially secure when I have to start my adult life with more than 60 grand of debt? In my opinion, I think many of America’s educational problems would be solved if students didn’t have to pay thousands of dollars to attend college. Though I may have to slightly alter my expectations for the future, I will never let that change my goals or dreams.

2 Comments

  1. sp said,

    February 14, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Enjoyed reading your first two posts very much. I liked how your first about individualism in America attempted to view the issue from both sides. The personal situation you speak about in your second post really brought current issues about the feasibility of attaining even modest dreams of “the good life.” In future posts, you might incorporate more evidence and quotes from course readings. It would have been interesting in this post to, perhaps, include some links to articles featuring people in a similar situation–students taking out loans to fund college educations and/or the plight of doctors in the current economy. Looking forward to reading more from you.

  2. meagankluttz said,

    March 5, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    I agree with your point of view on the money situation. Taking out loans and such builds up little by little and before you know it, you can be way in over your head in owing money. It would definitely be more easier convenient if college wasn’t so expensive, but like you said we can’t let this get in the way of our dreams! good post!


Leave a Reply

